Here’s our beauty blogger’s top makeup products as of right now. Let the glow be with you!

by Kiara Childs

I wanted to share some products I’ve been faithful to for a while. A lot of people don’t know where to get started with makeup and I wanted to help you all. I’m not a makeup artist at all and I can’t do eyeshadow, so there are no recommendations for that. However, here’s a start if you need some help with purchasing. Warning: I have spending issues and some of these products are really expensive! My skin type is dry and this is what works best for my face. For my makeup looks I like to look radiant, opposed to matte.

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 9.24.14 PM.png

Take Care of Your Canvas (Your Face)

As y’all know i’m dry af, so I have to keep my skin moisturized every hour on the hour. I start out with a more water based serum, which is Glossier’s Super Bounce ($28). Then to seal that in, I use my fave Natural Mystic Rose Quartz Serum ($22). Lastly, I use Nivea Face Cream for the extra seal. It’s like the L.O.C method for your face. This whole process can be considered your primer.

Foundations

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 9.27.32 PM

Before we get started here, I spend copious amounts of money on foundation. I don’t care what you say, but I do. Since last summer, I have been wearing NARS tinted moisturizer ($45). I love this stuff. Technically it’s not a foundation, but it has great pigmentation. It’s hydrating and evens out my skin tone beautifully. In the summer when you don’t want to put on a heavy face, NARS tinted moisturizer is my go to plus it has SPF.

 

Next up is my old faithful, Make Up For Ever ($43), this particular one used to be Face & Body, but it is now water blend. It’s composed of 70% water, so it’s great for people with dry skin. It feels amazing on your skin and can be easily applied with your hands. This foundation is much more sheer, so if you’re a beginner it’s a great starter foundation that still gives off the natural skin look.

 

Fit me! ($8) Is cheaper option a lot of people rave about. It also has great coverage and doesn’t give off the cakey look.

Conceal

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 9.34.18 PM.png

I loveee concealer! It can double as a foundation on the days you want to go for the no makeup makeup look. Bags under your eyes? Dark spot? Conceal it sis and keep it moving. Right now, I’m using nars Radiant Creamy concealer in Cafe ($30) . I love it. I also have Pro conceal, it’s much more cheaper than nars and a lot of MUA use it. It gets the job done for like $2. I don’t have Glossier’s Stretch concealer but it gets great reviews and i’m going to try it out soon.

Eyebrows/Eyelashes

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 9.35.29 PM.png

This post doesn’t show you how to do eyebrows, but I can tell you what to use. So to fill in I use Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz ($20). Fairly expensive, but good product that is long lasting. After I fill in I use Milani’s Brow Gel ($5) to set the eyebrows which you can find at your local drug store. After you complete your brows, outline them in a good concealer to get a more crisp look. It takes practices so refer to your local youtube MUA to snatch those brows. Lastly, I have bare minimum eyelashes and I’m afraid of fake lashes, so Benefit Cosmetics They’re Real! ($12-24) is the closest I get to having lashes. It works really well and I’ve used it for years.

Setting Spray/Power

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 9.41.29 PM.png

When I first got into makeup I didn’t know anything about setting so my makeup wouldn’t last too long because I always touch my face. Both of these are fairly pricey. The Urban Decay All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray ($31) can be found in a travel size at Sephora so you can save a little money. The second product is MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Dark Deep ($33). It gives off a matte finish and really just puts the icing on the cake for my face. With a Kabuki brush I apply this under my eyes to set my concealer and in the T-zone (for people with oily skin types). On the no makeup makeup days, you can just use this product and concealer and you’ll look natural and flawless! I use the spray after I apply my highlighter and for extra security when going out at night.

Highlighters

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 9.42.15 PM.png

I love to top off my melanin with some sparkles for the girls. The first is MAC Gold Deposit ($33). I don’t it have yet (give me like 2 weeks of this graduation glow) but i’m pretty sure this is everyone’s fave. It looks beautiful. I recommend. The second is my dupe, which is Milani’s Bronzer ($9). I had this bronzer since freshman year of highschool and it has really held me down. I always get compliments on this highlighter. It’s a drugstore brand so it’s affordable and definitely trustworthy.

LIPS

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 9.43.18 PM.png

I have very little lips, so I don’t really go for bold colors. I stick to brown and nudes and the occasional dark red lip. The first is MAC Touch ($17), which is a pinkish nude. My ultimate fave is NYX Buttergloss ($5) (Gingersnap). It’s one of the most moisturizing lip glosses i’ve ever had. I buy three at a time because it’s so amazing and cheap. Colourpop is another affordable brand with lots of goodies. Picture here is the shade Colourpop LAX ($6). Since it’s a matte lip you can apply vaseline 15 minutes prior to application to moisturize the lips.

 

 

Happy Shopping!

 

 

