by Nyesha Lashay

A year ago today I decided to loc my hair…it was an impulsive decision that came from a place called “fuck it.” It was spontaneous & random; I came home from class one day & started to palm roll my hair to see what it would look like. Before I knew it, I had palm rolled all of my hair, & I had gotten attached to it.

img_9305.jpg
Day 1, 2016

I loved my loose hair, but I was tired of fitting myself into boxes I had outgrown for the sake of pleasing people. Tired of trying to achieve respectability.

I was experiencing a lot of transformative growth inside, but to me, that growth wasn’t being reflected on the outside. It felt like I was holding on to a younger, more self conscious version of myself; an image that just wasn’t me anymore.

img_9312.jpg

Locking my hair required a confidence that I didn’t quite have when my journey began; the “starter loc” period was hard for me. I didn’t always feel beautiful throughout the process. In fact, the process revealed some of my own ugly ways; I’m no stranger to self ridicule, and I often told myself that I had made myself “ugly” by locking my hair. My boyfriend (who also has locs) will be the first one to tell you that I didn’t exactly embrace the change with open arms. He put up with my daily self-ridicule and impatience, and he was somehow able to remind me of why I committed in the first place. I wouldn’t have made it to one year without him.

img_2380img_2505

PROCESS PHOTOS

These photos were taken 1 week into my journey. I really thought I was doing something.

img_9745
March 23,2016
img_0025.jpg
April 12, almost 2 months
img_0068
April 16, 2016, 2 months
img_0134
April 21, 2016

It was around May when I started to see some budding, which is basically like bubbles in the loc. I honestly don’t know how they got there, but I HATED them so much. I would palm roll them nearly every day trying to smooth the buds out, but that didn’t work. I learned that I would just have to let them do their thing, and over time, they smoothed out.

img_0435
5/10/2016 – Budding up close
img_4838.jpg
3 months
img_4840.jpg
3 months
img_5017
3 months
img_9832.jpg
May 25, 2016 – 3 months still
img_0244
4 months in NOLA
img_0465.jpg
June 17, 2016 – Official 4 month mark
img_1659.jpg
5 months in Capetown, South Africa

img_1760.jpg

So this is still 5 months, but there’s a story behind it: I was in Cape Town & didn’t have the products I needed to keep up with my hair. So I went to a shop for the first time, thinking that they would have what I needed to get a fresh retwist. Wrong! This is what my hair looked like after they washed it at the shop. I was mortified because damn near all of my locs looked like they unraveled. When I told the loctician that I wanted him to palm roll my locs, he gave me a crazy look and told me that he couldn’t palm roll my hair because it wouldn’t work because of my hair texture. I told him that I had been palm rolling them for 5 months & that they were fine before I got to the shop. Everyone in the shop proceeded to tell me that the only way they could do my hair was to crochet it. I had no idea what that was, but I was against it because that’s not what I wanted. I learned that the crochet method is similar to the interlocking method –I didn’t want to do that because I heard it would make my locs thin at the root. I didn’t really have a choice though, so yes, I have had my hair interlocked or “crocheted” once & I won’t do it again. Here is the result:

img_1763

I wasn’t really impressed with this method because it gave me a lot of split ends (when the ends of locs split into two separate ends), and I felt like they didn’t really look neat and “done”. Better than the previous pic though!

img_2392.jpg
6 months
img_1715.jpg
6 months
img_2275.jpg
7 months
img_2860.jpg
almost 9 months
img_4174.jpg
9 months

img_3122.jpg

Months 10-11 I pretty much kept them covered up to protect them from Wisconsin’s cold.

img_5927

ONE YEAR!

In this year I turned 21, lived abroad for a semester, learned to say no, set and met new goals, and most importantly, I learned to embrace my own journey–because that’s where the beauty lies.

long story short, this week I’m celebrating a self love and confidence I didn’t know a year ago. I’m natty’d up and proud of the woman I am becoming throughout the process.

(FAQ post forthcoming)

with love,

nyesha

For more on Nyesha’s loc journey, abroad adventures and self-care routines visit her blog at nyeshalashay.com

